A Message Board, Guestbook, or Poll hosted for your website.
Copyscape Forum

Register  | Login  |   | New Posts  | Chat
 
Copyscape > Forums > Responding to Plagiarism > Dealing with African scammers?
 
Username:  
Password:  
 
   
 


Thread Tools  | Search This Thread 
Reply
 
Author Comment
 
kontech
Registered: Oct 03, 2008
Posts: 4

    Sept 02, 2009 at 11:23 AM
  Reply with quote#1

Hi all,

We have just discovered that our site: http://www.kontech.net has been blatantly copied to some African site here: http://www.tolsoftassociates.com

I've read a few post here about sites being copied by thieves from other countries and wonder what the best course of action is in that case, give this site is hosted out of Nigeria. Who knows, it maybe even used to pull 419 scams...

How well does Google spam actually work, as we don't want to be penalized by duplicate content issue?

Any other suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks,

Matt


__________________
http://www.kontech.net
kkimachia
Registered: Sept 03, 2009
Posts: 1

    Sept 03, 2009 at 08:09 AM
  Reply with quote#2

Hi Matt,

I am a web content writer and freelance writer based in Nairobi. I get a lot of copying & plagiarism issues such as these when people steal my content from websites or from my clients. I figured out how to deal with such crooks a while back;

go to http://ip-lookup.net/domain-lookup.php and look up the IP address by typing in the domain name (tolsoftassociates.com)

You will get the IP address: 69.57.134.83

Lookup the IP address in the same site and you will get this host:
Host                                                                 :orlando.anyservers.com

The website is hosted in the US.

Then go to http://network-tools.com and do a whois lookup for "anyserver.com". Here are the results http://network-tools.com/default.asp?prog=whois&host=69.57.134.83

In summary, the offending Nigerian is on a shared server and is hosted by http://ivhosting.com/. Their contacts (US and Poland) are on this page http://ivhosting.com/?body=contact. There is an e-mail address  so you can email them or visit them and tell them that one of their resellers (give them the domain name) is in violation of copyrighted material... threaten to sue. They should notify him and take down his site.

The WHOIS administrative contact for tolsoft is also listed as;

Administrative Contact:
U-KUN-D VENTURES
Akindele Ekundayo (admin@unclewebng.net)
+234.2348033444441
Fax: +234.23413450445
block 69, flat1, l.c.h.s. abesan
Ipaja, 12345
NG

But contacting the offender directly will not work since am sure he knew what he was doing. Get his hosting company to talk to him. hopefully he will get the message and not try and mess with you again.

I should probably invoice you for this

Kimkay
kontech
Registered: Oct 03, 2008
Posts: 4

    Sept 03, 2009 at 12:38 PM
  Reply with quote#3

I have already contacted the host, but they don't seem to be too responsive, giving me excuses of dealing with thousands of similar requests and asking for DMCA notice, as they can't do anything w/o it + proof of site ownership, etc.

This seems to be a long process and I'll keep you posted.

BTW. thanks for doing very thoughough homework Kimkay

__________________
http://www.kontech.net
sshirdi
Registered: Sept 08, 2009
Posts: 1

    Sept 08, 2009 at 08:45 AM
  Reply with quote#4

Really sad man..
Hope, you will find some solution.
Thanks,


__________________
http://www.okus.in
kontech
Registered: Oct 03, 2008
Posts: 4

    Sept 08, 2009 at 09:11 AM
  Reply with quote#5

Update:

After having sent multiple emails to the host as well as the webmistress thief Adebiyi Tolulope, the offending site has been taken down.

So glad for having the service like copyscape and its helpful members

Until the next time...

Thank you,

Matt


__________________
http://www.kontech.net
pasey
Registered: Oct 30, 2009
Posts: 1

    Oct 30, 2009 at 08:36 PM
  Reply with quote#6

Hate to tell you but the site is back up and running again unchanged.
__________________
http://www.zerotemplates.com
zottelkind
Registered: Nov 23, 2009
Posts: 3

    Nov 23, 2009 at 08:43 AM
  Reply with quote#7

Should it happen again I would sent an email to the admin where I impend with a prompt. Some programmer belong banned.

__________________
my blog
Previous Thread | Next Thread
Reply

  Bookmarks  
Digg Diggdel.icio.us del.icio.usStumbleUpon StumbleUponGoogle Google